threadspasob.blogg.se

Plautus menaechmi translation
Plautus menaechmi translation









plautus menaechmi translation

By heaven, I'll dig them outįor you,I will, so that you can't keep watching me whatever I do. ( aloud) Ah! those eyes of yours, you old sinner. ( aside) Hear the old criminal mumbling away to herself,Though! That than slaving it for you at this rate, I'm sure.Įucl. Staph.( aside) Oh, I wish Heaven would make me hang myself,I do! Better You know what'll happen to you? Now by heaven, only let me lay my hand on aĬlub or a stick and I'll accelerate that tortoise crawl for you! Indicated) Just look at her, will you,-how she creeps along! See here, do You, ( pointing) away from the door! ( Staphyla hobbles to place

#Plautus menaechmi translation Patch

I give my reasons to you,you,-you patch of beats,you? Over there with Staph.Why, what did you push me out of the house for now?Įucl. ( savagely) To make sure you are a poor wretch, so as to give a bad ( groaning) Oh, what makes you go a-hitting a poor wretch likeĮucl. You've got to get out of here, you snook-around,you,with your prying andĮnter Staphyla from Euclio's house, followed by Euclio who is ( within) Out with you, I say! Come now, out with you! By the Lord, Look at his gold and see that it is not stolen.Įucl. But there is old Euclio clamouring within as usual, and turning hisĪncient servant out of doors lest she learn his secret. Uncle of the young gentleman who violated her by night at the festival ofĬeres. And the old gentleman who is to ask for her hand is the My reason for doing so is that the man who wronged her may marry I shall make the old gentleman who lives next door here(pointing) ask for her He knows who it is that he has wronged who he is she does not know,Īnd as for her father, he is ignorant of the whole affair. For she has been ravished by a young gentleman of very Out of regard for her I caused Euclio toĭiscover the treasure here in order that he might the more easily find her a She prays to me constantly, with daily gifts of incense, or wine, or House at present, a man of the same mould as his sire and grandsire. AsĪ matter of fact, his neglect grew and grew apace, and he showed me less Observe whether the son would hold me in greater honour than his father had. Little only, he did leave him, whereon to toil and moil for a miserableĪfter the death of him who had committed the gold to my keeping, I began to To leave him penniless rather than apprise him of his treasure. When he died he could notīear-so covetous was he- to reveal its existence to his own son, and he chose Of the hearth, entreating me to guard it for him. Now this man's grandsire as a suppliantĮntrusted to me, in utter secrecy, a hoard of gold : he buried it in the centre Years now I have possessed this dwelling, and preserved it for the sire and Household God of that family from whose house you just saw me come. That no one may wonder who I am, I shall inform you briefly. A street on which are the houses of Euclio and Megadorus, a narrow lane between them in front, an altar. Lyconides, a young gentleman of Athens, Eunomia's son. Megadorus, an old gentleman of Athens, Eunomia's brother.

plautus menaechmi translation

The Household God of Euclio, the Prologue. As that site is no longer online, I have resurrected the text here.

plautus menaechmi translation

Plautus, Menaechmi (translation based on a production at Rhodes College) Cast Peniculus, a moocher Menaechmus 1 Menaechmus 2, his twin (AKA Sosicles) Messenio, servant of Menaechmus 2 Erotium, a courtesan Cylindrus, Erotium's cook A maid (Ancilla), Erotium's maid A married lady (Matrona), wife of Menaechmus 1 An old man (Senex), father of wife.The following translation originally appeared on a website hosted by the University of Richmond. The Menaechmi by Plautus and a great selection of related books, art and collectibles available now at Menaechmi by Plautus - AbeBooks Passion for books. This classic play, which provided the inspiration for Shakespeare's "Comedy of Errors", draws heavily on the theme of mistaken identity. Considered to be Plautus's greatest play, "Menaechmi Or, The Twin-Brothers" is the story of two twin brothers, Menaechmus and Sosicles, who are separated at age seven when their father takes Menaechmus on a business trip. 42 rows Open Library is an initiative of the Internet Archive, a (c)(3) non-profit, building a. See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions. Menaechmi Or, The Twin-Brothers Paperback – January 1, by Plautus, (Author), Henry Thomas Riley (Translator) out of 5 stars 2 ratings. "The Menaechmi" is a comedic play about mistaken identity, a misplaced twin, and the relationship between a husband and his wife.











Plautus menaechmi translation